Health Benefits of Sweet Potato Leaves

Everyone knows that Sweet Potatoes have health benefits… but did you know that Sweet Potato Leaves are healing?

Sweet Potato Leaves are packed full of great antioxidants… also vitamin C making it great for fighting off free radicals thus preventing premature aging and disease.

Sweet Potato Leaves boost the immune system and thus helping to prevent infections and disease.

And the leaves and the rest of the plant may work wonders for balancing out blood sugar making great for diabetics. It contains a substance called FIBL… that in studies done on mice did lower blood sugar levels.

Making a drink of the Sweet Potato Leaves really works wonders for GI distress, stomachaches, diarrhea, and nausea.

And some find that Sweet Potato Leaves reduce fevers making it great for colds and flues.

Sweet Potato Leaves are great for skin problems too… such as bug bites, burns, and scrapes.

And last but not least Sweet Potato Leaves can lower blood pressure and also help with anxiety and stress.

Next time you dig up some Sweet Potatoes remember to use the leaves.

Paul Haider – Master Herbalist

About Dr. Paul Haider

Dr. Paul Haider has been a Master Herbalist for over 25 years. Dr. Haider helps those looking for healing and realization. Dr. Haider has over 4,000 articles about natural health and spirituality, a radio show, and writes for many magazines including OM Times Magazine. Dr. Paul Haider - Contact him on his Website contact form at www.paulhaider.com - and also on FB under Dr. Paul Haider
This entry was posted in Healing Herbs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Health Benefits of Sweet Potato Leaves

  1. Bettie Neal says:

    I have friends from Liberia. They introduced me to the many uses. I love them!

  2. Marcuz says:

    I always eat sweet potatoes leaves as part of my healthy diet… And the result is really astonishing

  3. Josefina says:

    I make sweet potato leaves as smoothie everyday with other greens makes me calm and cool.

  4. Loli says:

    my liberian coleaque taught me yesterday how to cook sweet potatoe leaves and i really loved it.

  5. HELEN says:

    How can i cook potato leaves

    • paulhaider says:

      Hi-Helen,

      The same way you would cook any other kind of green leafy veggie – sautéed, used in stews, and added to meat dishes and more.

      Thank You for the Question.

      Dr. Paul Haider – Master Herbalist

  6. joel aton says:

    Hi Dr. Paul Haider… I’ve been drinking sweet potato juice for sometime and was so excited to read these benefits. Actually we use the sweet potato tops as salad, and I set aside the boiled water/stock and mix it with coffee and ginger.

  7. Kindly help me with the scientific studies manuscript to help me convince my other colleagues. I know this article iis published out of well-researched protocol. Thank you for the anticipted positive response, goodman.

    • paulhaider says:

      At this time we don’t have millions of dollars like the drugs companies to
      research natural remedies… and when they do they are abandoned like that of “Sour Sop Leaves” for cancer
      It was proven to work but the drug companies would not let the research continue.

      I also have friends who are University researchers that have worked on Vitamin C and cancer treatment and their papers
      are laughed at at all the scholarly meetings even though they have proof.

      But things are changing, I hope that in the future lots of natural remedies will be researched deeply with
      lots of money and be giving freely to everyone because we all deserve great health.

      But I don’t think it will come in my time.

      But I am hopeful.

      For now we work from 20 plus years of experience in the field of natural health.

      Thank You for your great question.

      Dr. Paul Haider – Master Herbalist

    • paulhaider says:

      I have kidney disease and was dying… and I found western medicine no help at all.
      I found a Chinese Doctor that had teas he gave me that did not have any scientific background and basis.
      But 20 years later I am still alive… not everything has been proven by science – I am a Minister too.
      There is much more going on than we understand.
      Give me an herbalist any time over a doctor
      over the last 20 years 1 million people have died because of doctor prescribed drugs and such.
      Less than 100 from herbal products.

      Dr. Paul Haider – Master Herbalist

      • Tony Pang says:

        Hi Dr.Paul Haider.
        I am 65 years old and this year i have gout , diebetic for more then 15 year and low GFR kidney funtion can you let me know what type of Chinese tea can maintence my gout, diebetic and kidney disease
        Thanks you inadvance

      • paulhaider says:

        Hi-Tony,

        It is important to change your diet – I had kidney disease, high blood pressure, terrible arthritis for 40 years, and more and it all disappeared when I went to the Whole Foods Plant Based Diet.

        Here is what I recommend.

        ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~/
        Whole Foods Plant Based Diet

        Works for many people – I lost 40 lbs, my arthritis of 40 years disappeared, my kidney disease disappeared, my high blood pressure disappeared, I sleep like I baby now, no more aches, or pains of any kind. – Attached you will see a before and after picture of me – this was in 3 weeks with no change in exercise.

        First of all you need to drink a lot of water – at least 10 glasses of water a day – I recommend at least 1/2 liter in the morning and 1/2 liter in the afternoon and more. – Drink Reverse Osmosis Water – You can buy these machines at any home repair center like Home Depot for very little money – it is the best water – even kidney doctors recommend this water for their patients. This is what we drink at home – our water is polluted and has lots of toxins in it – so please get this device and filter your water.

        OK – Here we go. – Whole Foods/Plant Based Diet

        Drink 2 – 8 oz glasses of green alkalising juice in the per day – Kale, Cabbage, Swiss Chard, Turnip Greens, Beet Greens, and any other kind of green leafy veggie you can find.

        Take 3,000 mgs of Chlorella per day. – you can buy this in 1,000 mg tablets – it is a green algae that has over 60 different nutrients in it and it will do your body good – Powerful

        Get up at 6 AM – Go to be at 10 PM. – you need to reset your circadian rhythms – you have two little cells that flash on and off per second in every organ of your body and your heart and they know when you should be sleeping and should be up. – If you go against this way of living you shorten your life span.

        First thing in the morning after going to the bathroom – sit down and concentrate on your breathing – breathing in and out, if a thought comes in, say – I will get to that later and go back to your breathing. Do this for 30 Minutes – this gives the mind/body a rest. Even during sleep your mind is not resting – this turns it off for a little while – it takes practice and surrender to the process. Even Dr. Dean Ornish recommends Meditation – and it has nothing to do with Religion – it is about healing – and we now know that people meditate have good genes expressed and bad genes are shut off and not expressed- Wow! Amazing Stuff. – Meditate for 30 minutes first thing in the Morning and about 5PM in the afternoon for 30 Minutes. – It will do your body good.

        Breakfast – Have breakfast in the morning with 1 1/2 cups of fruit – and 1/2 cup of almond
        >milk or nut milk of any kind… and 1/2 cup of raw flattened oatmeal – rolled oats. Good old old fashioned Quaker Oats – but don’t cook it – just plain and use stevia.

        Use any kinds of fruits you want – papaya, apples, mangos, berries, strawberries, what ever makes your heart sing – all raw – OK- the more different colors the better.

        Have a green salad for lunch, with lots of veggies, all raw. – Cooked food is seen by the body as an invader so you want to eat at least 75% or more raw foods – It is healing.

        Have lots of different colored foods in your salad, red, yellow, green, purple, all the colors of the rainbow in your beautiful salad – it is healing – colored veggies are full of antioxidants that are healing.

        Drink Green Tea – 3 small cups a day – full of polyphenols that are super healing.

        In between eat carrot sticks and fruit of any kind as snacks – should have 3 snacks a day.

        For Dinner here is a soup that you can make at home and it is very healing –

        Make a soup of broccoli, cabbage, kake, swiss chard, turnip greens, been greens, and any other green that you like.

        Also add 4 cups of beans of your choice like pink beans, garbanzos, lentils, all of the beans are great.

        Don’t use canned foods – cook the beans yourself – canned foods are toxic. – lots of chemicals in linings of the cans.

        Use low sodium or no sodium veggie broth to cook this soup.

        You can eat as much as you like of this soup in the evening.

        If you want something sweet once in a while have some Sorbet – take frozen bananas and any other kind of fruit and blend them in a powerful blender and you have a great sorbet – you can add some stevia if you like – great tasting.

        Also remove the following from your life.

        No meat, no chicken, no fish, no seafood, no eggs, no cheese, no milk, no added oils, no canned foods, no artificial flavors, no artificial sweeteners, no artificial anything, no chemicals of any kind, if you don’t know what it is don’t eat it.

        No alcohol, no highly spiced food, and use very little salt, no fast food, no processed food, if in doubt don’t eat it.

        No wheat, no bread, no barley, no spelt – all of these are highly inflammatory.

        No GMO foods – all of these are highly inflammatory.

        Eat organic if possible – that is the best.

        If you want protein eat Tofu, Beans, Nuts, Seeds, – organic.

        You only need 5 or 6 % protein and that is exactly what you get on this diet.

        Watch the movie “Forks Over Knives” and “Food Matters” – you will find them on the internet.

        Also watch the movie “Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead” – very good.

        Also watch the movie “Beautiful Truth” and “The Gerson Miracle”

        Exercise every day – walk – work up to 5 miles a day – if it is hot walk in a mall where it is cool.

        or swim – work up to 5 miles swimming.

        Or you could bike ride or any other exercise.

        Get out and have fun, have a life with friends…. that is important too.

        Start planting a garden – you need organic veggies – and working in a garden is very healing.

        Start a community garden so everyone can heal. – that would be a great project.

        Think positive thoughts, the mind/body is one and science has proven this now – it is a fact.

        Laugh – it is very healing

        Forgive, forget, and let go–that is important if you hold resentments and anger it hurts your liver – science has proven this too.

        Well all for now.

        If you have questions feel free to contact me by email or phone.

        Your Humble Servant

        Dr. Paul Haider – Master Herbalist

  8. Sara says:

    How is sweat potatoes leaves prapared for drinking. Can it be taken raw or cooked

  9. Hock Sen says:

    Dear Dr Paul Haider, my wife was diagnosed with FSGS kidney disease and her Creatinine now at 335 while Urea at 20. Trying very hard to prevent it from failing further as the GFR is less than 15% now. I’m trying out sweet potato leaves blended with a green apple for her as well as boiled the juice with some ginger for her consumption daily. My mum in law even recommended chinese herbs called Shui Gui Cao ( wandering jew : zebrinae Pendula Herba) for her and this make me a bit confused as whether can she mixed taking the drinks together. Currently also undergoing a meditation therapy called Brainwave Quantum Healing to improve her condition. Hope to hear some fruitful advices from Dr Haider.

  10. alineitwe david says:

    thank you for sharing your knowledge , God bless you. we also mix charcoal crushed with potato leaves put on scar when fire or hot water has burned you the scar disappear and skin colour as it was before.

  11. Good to know all these good things about potato leaves. Thanks for sharing.

  12. Mary I. Sterling says:

    Dear Dr. Paul Haider,
    I came on the internet to check to see what, “Nutrition Benefits was in Sweet Potatoes Leaves.” As result, I found your site. This all took place after I was lead (by the Lord) to do something, that tried out, and found it was releasing the pains I have suffer in my Right Knee, now for over a year.
    I was thinking one day, if we can eat Sweet Potatoes, why we do not eat the Leaves also. I was raised in the country and we planted almost everything we ate accept a very few things like Flour and Sugar.
    I planted a potato about three years ago along with other Herbs Plants at my doorstep. Each year the sweet potatoes vine grow more and more. This year the vine and leaves are all over the place. 3 years times, the vine has taken over.
    I decided to try what has been in my mind to do: I went to Food-4-Less and I got 2-Turnip Greens, 2-Mustard Green, and 2-Kale Green, and not as many sweet potatoes leave only. I cooked them all together. I felt a different in my health, which was a good thing (LOL-I am yet alive); so the next week, I done the same thing, this time I put as many S.P.L as I had of the others green. I was yet feeling good.
    The third week, I decided to just get 1-Turnip, 1-Mustard, and 1-Kale-This time, I added more S.P.L. The next morning, after eating them, I knew what was taking place in my body. My right knee has been giving me so much problems. As time I felt like I was going to blank out from the pains, now I am not experiencing the same pains as I have been, so I went out and pick me nothing but the Potatoes Leave and cooked them, I know that I know it from me eating the S.P.L.
    Let me really telling you what I have been going through with my knees, the right one is the worth. I am a Senior Citizen 70+ years of age. I am also a student at CA ST getting a BA at a University. A few years ago, I had to started to use the Scooter that my doctor got for me in 2003, and I used it for about five times, before last four or five years. I tried my best not to depend on that Scooter. When I first started to school in 2007, I took a walking class, and as I walked my knee got stronger and my it didn’t hurt me for a few years, then I got sick and couldn’t do my walking. It started back and had got worse than before, this also cause me to hurt so bad, I had to watch how I move it. If I was getting out my car and turn it a little, it hurt so bad, I feel like I was going to blank out.
    Now, for about a month, it is different. I can laid down a night without it hurting so bad, I can get up without taken my hand and lifting it up to get up. I know the potatoes Leaves is going it because I miss a day just to see and I feed the pains again. I am thinking to my self, I would rather eat Potatoes Leave every day than to take the IBPROFEN the doctor gave me. I only took them once and it did not stop the pain when I move around.
    Here are other Herbs I take of which I have been taking for sometime, and they didn’t stopped the pains: Osteo Bi-Flex joint Health, I recently started to take Magnesium-500 mg, B-12 1000 mcg before I started the S.P.L.—Tired of hurting when I would moved my knee or cross it.
    After started to eating the Sweet Potatoes Leave, I even make me a soup out of it. This last week I went to Costco and got some, “Chicken & Vegetable WONTON SOUP.” I put some S.P. L. in the soup, and added a small bag of Lettuce and I am giving PRAISES to my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. I hope this help someone else, because it sure help me.

    • Hi-Mary,

      That is wonderful

      But I can tell you now that if you follow my Whole Foods Plant Based Diet – Exactly – All your aches and pains will disappear.

      You need raw green juices – And lots of Life Enzymes – Whenever you cook food you lose 100% of all live enzymes and up to 75% of all nutrients – not good

      See link to Diet – Many Blessings My Friend – Dr. Haider

      Whole Foods Plant Based Diet and Lifestyle

      This diet must be follow exactly – OK

      Read this diet over slowly a couple of times it contains lots of information

      See Link

      The Whole Foods Plant Based Diet… and Life Style

  13. Margaret says:

    please doctor. My mum has been suffering from knee and waist pain (arthritis)for years now. It hurts me so much to see her go through her daily life in pain. Please I really need your help. I read some articles about raw potato juice, that helps to heal it. Please I want to know if it is sweet potato or any other type of potato juice.
    thank you

    • Hi- Margaret

      The answer is diet see below

      I used to have arthritis for 40 years and now is completely gone

      Many Blessings My Friend

      Dr Haider

      Animal protein and also wheat causes acid in the body and acid causes inflammation and that inflammation causes disease and pain.

      And this can also lead to cancer, prostate disease, heart attacks, and more

      This means no beef, no chicken, no turkey, no fish, no seafood, no eggs, no milk, no cheese, no yogurt, no nothing that is connected to animals.

      Animal protein and wheat are Not Good.

      Also no Barley, Spelt, and Rye – they are also highly inflammatory

      All this info is all in my diet

      You can have all of this pain disappear if you follow my– Whole Foods Plant Based Diet – Exactly – OK

      And you need to eat at least 90% raw food – all live enzymes are destroyed with cooking and we need live enzymes for all our chemical rations and for keeping inflammation down.

      Also all cooked food loses up to 75% of all nutrition – Not Good

      And no tea or coffee for you — inflammatory in your case.

      ***Whole Foods Plant Based Diet and Lifestyle

      This diet must be follow exactly – OK

      ***Read this diet over slowly a couple of times it contains lots of information

      See Link

      The Whole Foods Plant Based Diet… and Life Style

      If you follow this diet exactly and stay on it you will be pain free in 2 months – if you go off the diet your pain will come back.

      I also recommend Meditation

      ***Free Vipassana Meditation Retreats

      We now know with the study of esigencies that meditation turns on good genes and turns off bad genes.–and they have these retreats in India.

      Meditation is POWERFUL

      10 Day FREE Vipassana Meditation Retreats – Even the food and lodging is FREE – and the food is vegetarian

      These retreats are put on by people who have taken the retreats in the past and know how powerful they are.

      About the 5th day people have amazing breakthroughs that change their life forever.

      You will walk out a totally different person after this retreat – I promise.

      These retreats are given all over the world – See link to find one near you

      This link is not very mobile friendly check it out on your computer

      http://www.dhamma.org/en/about/vipassana

      Please go to this Retreat – they are given all over the world – and all the food and lodging is FREE – Can’t Beat that Price

      And don’t put yourself on a waiting list people always go to this retreat. — sign up for the next available retreat.

      ***And there is also TM Meditation – go to http://www.tm.org

      see video –

      Sending Light, Love, and Healing Prayers Your Way

      ***And from a Spiritual Stand Point I recommend the following

      ***Name of God

      Saying a personal name of God over and over again thousands of times each day – silently

      Something like Jesus, Buddha, Krishna, or something else – something other than just the word God.

      The name of God is powerful.— all will be well.

      This needs to be said for at least 6 months – OK

      All will be well

      Remember

      “Let food be thy medicine, and thy medicine be thy food”

      ― Hippocrates

      “All Disease Begins in the Gut”

      – Hippocrates

      “He that takes medicine and neglects diet, wastes the skill of the physician.”

      – Chinese Proverb

      “The doctor of the future will give no medication, but will interest his patients in the care of the human frame, diet and in the cause and prevention of disease. “

      – Thomas Edison

      “If the diet is wrong medicine is of no use, if the diet is correct medicine is of no need.”

      – Ancient Ayurvedic Medicine Quote from India

      “I will use those dietary regimens which will benefit my patients according to my greatest ability and judgement.”

      – Part of the Greek Hippocratic Oath

      “Eat Well – Be Well”

      – Dr. Paul Haider – Master Herbalist 

      Remember – I only recommend – I am not a medical doctor – I am a Master Herbalist

      Sending Light, Love, and Healing Prayers Your Way

      Dr. Haider

      ***All my work I do for Free but your donations are greatly appreciated

      *** Your Donations are Greatly Appreciated – Donate to Dr. Haider via http://www.Paypal.com using the Paypal address — drpaulhaider@gmail.com

      Or the following link can be used to make a donation on Paypal with a credit card or debit card –

      https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_donations&business=drpaulhaider%40gmail%2ecom&lc=US&item_name=Dr%2e%20Paul%20Haider&currency_code=USD&bn=PP%2dDonationsBF%3abtn_donateCC_LG%2egif%3aNonHosted

      Most people make a donation of $50 to $100 US dollars — but that’s up to you

      Or you can mail a check to me via

      Dr. Paul Haider

      P. O. Box 363284

      San Juan, PR

      00936

      Or you can Western Union a Donation to me – under my name to here in San Juan

      I want to thank you in advance for your donation

      – Dr. Haider

  14. hrm OYEBODE tunji says:

    tnk u for the information.

  15. with man saputu says:

    How can I promote this recipe to people in my community. I like this potato leaves

  16. Sweet potato leaves are part of my healthy eating.
    Thanks for this site

  17. Nandy Dela Cruz says:

    Hi Dr Haider,
    How much sweet potato leaves juice I should take in order to realise the benefits?

    • It is food … there is no dose … Just enjoy … Here is my diet and lifestyle it is the best way to become extremely healthy like me

      Many Blessings My Friend

      Dr Haider

      😀🙏🏻❤️

      Dr Haider’s Diet and Lifestyle

      I recommend you follow my diet exactly for the rest of your life… and you will become extremely healthy like me – I Promise

      This diet must be followed exactly – OK

      Read this diet over slowly a couple of times it contains lots of information

      See Link

      The Whole Foods Plant Based Diet… and Life Style

      Also, see this – Why Animal Protein is Killing Us – See Link –

      “New Studies — Why Animal Protein is Killing Us”

      ***This information is meant to get you started… so you can do more research on your own… dig a little deeper and find what works for you. This article is for educational purposes only, I strongly recommend that you seek advice from your own GP, private doctor, or medical specialist for any ailment, illness, or medical condition.. this article not meant to be a scientific analysis in any way, shape, or form.

      Sending Light, Love, and Healing Prayers Your Way

      Dr. Haider

      Let me know how you are doing in 30 days – if you follow my diet exactly

      Healthy Gut from Eating Plants Prevents Chronic Diseases

      A diet high in fiber from plant-based foods can enhance the activity and composition of the gut microbiota. According to a recent article published in Practical Diabetology, a diet high in whole grains, legumes, fruits, and vegetables can reduce inflammation and prevent obesity and diabetes by enhancing the growth of healthy bacteria. A diet high in fat and animal products can lead to overgrowth of bacteria that cause inflammation and increase the risk of diabetes and certain types of cancer. Other healthy lifestyles choices such as exercising, getting enough sleep, and managing stress can also help. However, most experts agree that nutrition plays the most prominent role in improving gut health.

      Jardine M. The relationship between microbiota and the environment, nutrition and metabolic disease. Pract Diabetol. 2017;36:6-14.

      **

      All my work I do for Free but your donations are greatly appreciated

      *** Your Donations are Greatly Appreciated – Donate to Dr. Haider the following link can be used to make a donation with a credit card or debit card –

      https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_donations&business=drpaulhaider%40gmail%2ecom&lc=US&item_name=Dr%2e%20Paul%20Haider&currency_code=USD&bn=PP%2dDonationsBF%3abtn_donateCC_LG%2egif%3aNonHosted

      And you can make a small or large monthly donation on patreon see link – https://www.patreon.com/Drpaulhaider and where it says $1 a month you can change that to whatever amount you like. — I thank you in advance… Dr. Haider

      Most people make a donation of $50 to $100 US dollars — but that’s up to you

      Or you can mail a check to me via

      Dr. Paul Haider

      P. O. Box 363284

      San Juan, PR

      00936

      Or you can WesternUnion a Donation to me – under my name to here in San Juan

      I want to thank you in advance for your donation

      – Dr. Haider

      😀🙏🏻❤️

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.